The 11 European parties to the IGA, Member States of ESA, have reactivated the European International Space Station Intergovernmental Agreement Coordination Committee (CC) to assess the necessity of an intergovernmental agreement as the basis for extending the ISS partnership to Lunar Gateway cooperation and Moon exploration and the potential role of the IGA therein. Based on this assessment, the CC will develop a European position for the ensuing negotiations with the international partners. The CC will be chaired by Amb. Stefano Queirolo Palmas (on the photo right). IISL President Kai-Uwe Schrogl (on the photo left) was elected Vice Chair. The European IGA Parties will be represented by the Chair, who will be joined by the Vice Chair in international negotiations. The CC will have the challenging task of establishing an appropriate intergovernmental legally binding framework for multilateral cooperation beyond Earth orbit.


Categories: Organization


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *