

Welcome to the 67th Colloquium on the Law of Outer Space of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL)

Kai-Uwe Schrogl
President



www.iisl.space

IISL











KNOWLEDGE Constellation

- Created in 1960.
- Members from more than 50 countries from all continents.
- The main global platform of space lawyers in academic, government, industry and practice.
- Continuously extending activities and formats (Colloquia, Symposia, Knowledge Constellation, Happy Hour and many more).
- Continuously striving for relevance in space law making.
- Continuously striving for engaging the youth (Young Scholars Sessions and Symposia, Moot Court Competition chaired by ICJ Judges).
- Visit **iisl.space**







What IISL has achieved in the recent past:

Increased relevance in promoting the rule of law in outer space & expansion as the prime platform for space lawyers from governments, agencies, academia, industry and practice through:



- Relevance for space law research and space law making (IISL/ECSL Symposia leading to LSC agenda items, Studies with currently five ongoing study groups, Statements, history publications, Colloquium Proceedings as top resource, invitations to contribute to a growing number of events).
- **Digital transformation of IISL** (accelerated through Covid: virtual GA, digital elections, digital payments, new website) **and new participatory formats** (Knowledge Constellation, Happy Hour).
- **Extension and education** (MLSM LA Round, Young Scholars Symposium, annual workshops in China and the US).
- **Generation change and inclusiveness** (in Board and membership, with even stronger age, gender and regional diversity; ethics charter; mentoring in preparation).

At this Colloquium during the week

IISL

- 7 Sessions and Interactive Presentations
- 2 Lunchtime events
- The Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition Finals with H.E. Judge Peter Tomka, H.E. Judge Yuji Iwasawa and H.E. Judge Leonardo Nemer Caldeira Brant
- The IISL Awards Dinner



2024 Election results

- High participation during the elections
- Elected IISL Vice-President: Ranjana Kaul
- Elected IISL Directors:

Olavo Bittencourt
Catherine Doldirina
Andrea Harrington
Masahiko SATO
Bernhard Schmidt-Tedd
Jenni Tapio
Fabio Tronchetti
Guoyu WANG
Yun Zhao





2024 IISL Awards

- Lifetime Achievement Award Marco Ferrazzani
- Distinguished Service Rafael Moro Aguilar
- Young Achiever Ruvimbo Samanga
- Young Achiever Scarlet O'Donnell
- Certificate of Gratitude Yu Takeuchi
- Certificate of Gratitude Jairo A. Becerra and Laura Gamarra-Amaya



Maintaining and expanding the rule of law in outer space!



www.iisl.space