As announced earlier, at the 2016 IAC in Guadalajara Mrs. Tanja Masson-Zwaan (Netherlands) stepped down as President of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL), after three terms in office and having guided IISL through several improvements in the Institute’s governance, implicating students and young professionals, and expanding the reach and reputation of the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition. By acclamation, she was elected President-Emeritus and presented with a farewell gift at the IISL Dinner in Guadalajara on 29 September.

At the 2016 IAC the election of Prof. Kai-Uwe Schrogl (Germany) as new President of the IISL was confirmed by the General Assembly. Prof. Schrogl currently is the Chief Strategy Officer of the European Space Agency (ESA) in Paris, as well as Honorary Professor at the University of Tübingen, Germany.

Also, the results of the elections for four vacant seats on the Board of Directors of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL) were confirmed. As a consequence, the following persons have been installed for a three-year term as Member of the Board of Directors:

  • Prof. Steven Freeland (Australia)
  • Dr Martha Mejia-Kaiser (Mexico/Germany)
  • Prof. Sergio Marchisio (Italy)
  • Ms Elina Morozova (Russia)
Categories: Elections