Every year, at its Annual Awards Dinner held during the IISL Colloquium, the Institute gives several awards and certificates to people who have shown outstanding achievement in the field of space law. The Institute gives out annual awards in five categories:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Award of Appreciation
  • Certificate of Gratitude
  • Space Law Award for Young Achievers

The IISL Board of Directors also annually grants the Prof. Dr I.H.Ph. Diederiks-Verschoor Award.

The Award is given to the best paper accepted for presentation at the Institute’s Colloquium by an author not older than 30 years and who has not published more than five papers in the Proceedings of IISL Colloquia.

A medal is donated each year by the initiator of the Award, Prof. Oscar Fernandez Brital from Argentina.

Previous IISL Awards winners

2019Prof Christian BrünnerAustriaLifetime Achievement Award
 Mr Victor VeshchunovRussiaDistinguished Service Award
 Dr P J BlountUnited StatesYoung Achiever Award
 Dr Fabio TronchettiItalyYoung Achiever Award
 Dr Olga VolynskayaRussiaYoung Achiever Award
2018Dr George S. RobinsonUnited StatesLifetime Achievement Award
 Mr Jason SteptoeUnited StatesDistinguished Service Award
 China Institute of Space LawChinaCertificate of Gratitude
2017Dr Andrei TerekhovRussiaLifetime Achievement Award
 Mr Niklas HedmanSwedenDistinguished Service Award
 Dr Ranjana KaulIndiaDistinguished Service Award
 Dr Michael DavisAustraliaAward of Appreciation
 European Centre for Space Law (ECSL)
European Space Agency (ESA)
 Certificate of Gratitude
2016Prof. Joanne Irene GabrynowiczUnited StatesLifetime Achievement Award
 Dr Milton “Skip” SmithUnited StatesLifetime Achievement Award
 Dr Irmgard MarboeAustriaDistinguished Service Award
 Prof. Sa’id MostesharUnited KingdomDistinguished Service Award
 Yvon HenriInternational Telecommunication UnionAward of Appreciation (joint)
 Attila MatasInternational Telecommunication UnionAward of Appreciation (joint)
 Indian Space Research OrganisationIndiaCertificate of Gratitude
 National Law School of India University, BangaloreIndiaCertificate of Gratitude
2015Ms Marcia S. SmithUnited StatesLifetime Achievement Award
 Prof. Dr Sergio MarchisioItalyDistinguished Service Award
 Dr B. Schmidt-TeddGermanyAward of Appreciation (joint)
 Dr M. StanfordUnited KingdomAward of Appreciation (joint)
 Japanese Aerospace Exploration AgencyJapanCertificate of Gratitude
2014Prof. Dr Paul B. LarsenUnited StatesLifetime Achievement Award
 Prof. Dr José Monserrat, FilhoBrazilDistinguished Service Award
 Mr Dennis J. BurnettUnited StatesCertificate of Gratitude
2013Dr Marietta BenköGermanyLifetime Achievement Award
 Dr Martha Mejia-KaiserMexico/GermanyDistinguished Service Award
 Mr Philippe ClercFranceAward of Appreciation
2012Ms Corinne JorgensonUnited States/FranceDistinguished Service Award
2011Judge Abdul KoromaSierra LeoneLifetime Achievement Award
 Dr Ernst FasanAustriaLifetime Achievement Award
 Prof. Joanne GabrynowiczUnited StatesDistinguished Service Award
 Prof. Datuk Dr Mazlan OthmanMalaysiaAward of Appreciation
 Mr Scott HattonUnited KingdomCertificate of Gratitude
2010Prof. Dr Vladimir KopalCzech RepublicLifetime Achievement Award
 Dr Sylvia OspinaColombiaDistinguished Service Award
 Dr Jean-Michel ContantFranceCertificate of Appreciation
2009Prof. Dr Stephan HobeGermanyDistinguished Service Award
 Judge Vladlen S. VereshchetinRussiaLifetime Achievement Award
 Mrs Annie MoulinFranceCertificate of Appreciation
2008Prof. Francis LyallUnited KingdomLifetime Achievement Award
2007Mr KRS MurthiIndiaLifetime Achievement Award
 Prof. Ram JakhuCanadaDistinguished Service Award
2006Dr Lubos PerekCzech RepublicLifetime Achievement Award
 Dr Leslie TennenUnited StatesDistinguished Service Award
2005Mr Ricky LeeAustraliaDistinguished Service Award
2004Dr Frans von der DunkNetherlandsDistinguished Service Award
2003Dr Kai-Uwe SchroglGermanyDistinguished Service Award
2002Prof. Jonathan GallowayUnited StatesDistinguished Service Award
2001Ms Tanja Masson-ZwaanNetherlands/SwitzerlandDistinguished Service Award
2000Dr Milton (Skip) SmithUnited StatesDistinguished Service Award
1999Dr I.H. Ph. Diederiks-VerschoorNetherlandsLifetime Achievement Award
 Dr Andrei TerekhovRussiaDistinguished Service Award
1998Prof. Carl Q. ChristolUnited StatesLifetime Achievement Award
 Law Offices of Sterns & TennenUnited StatesDistinguished Service Award
1997Amb. E. Finch Jr.United StatesLifetime Achievement Award
 Bin ChengUnited KingdomSpecial Book Award
1996Prof. Francis LyallUnited KingdomIISL Certificate
 Dr He QizhiChinaSpecial Certificate
1995Judge Vladlen VereshchetinRussiaIISL Certificate
 Dr Michel BourelyFranceSpecial Certificate
1994Judge Gilbert GuillaumeFranceIISL Certificate
1993Dr Priyatna AbdurrasyidIndonesiaLifetime Achievement Award
1992Dr Paul DemblingUnited StatesIISL Certificate
1991no award  
1990Dr Reinhard MuellerGermanyIISL Certificate
 Dr I.H. Ph Diederiks-VerschoorNetherlandsSpecial Certificate
 Dr Eilene M. GallowayUnited StatesLifetime Achievement Award
1989Dr He QizhiChinaCertificate of Merit
1988Dr Stephen DoyleUnited StatesCertificate of Merit
1987no award  
1986no award  
1985Dr Neil HosenballUnited StatesCertificate of Merit
1984no award  
1983Prof. K.-H. BockstiegelGermanyCertificate of Merit
1982Dr Nandasiri JasentuliyanaSri LankaTestimonial Certificate
1981Dr Carl Q. ChristolUnited StatesTestimonial Certificate
 Dr Vladimir KopalCzechoslovakiaTestimonial Certificate
1980Dr Michel BourelyFranceTestimonial Certificate
 Dr Martin MenterUnited StatesTestimonial Certificate
1979Dr Priyatna AbdurrasyidIndonesiaTestimonial Certificate
 Dr Lubos PerekCzechoslovakiaTestimonial Certificate
1978Dr Nicolas M. MatteCanadaTestimonial Certificate
 Dr A.S. PiradovUSSRTestimonial Certificate
 Dr Vladlen VereshchetinUSSRTestimonial Certificate
1977Amb. E. WyznerPolandTestimonial Certificate
 Ms Kwen ChenUnited StatesTestimonial Certificate
 Prof. S. GoroveUnited StatesTestimonial Certificate
1976no award  
1975no award  
1974no award  
1973no award  
1972no award  
1971no award  
1970no award  
1969Dr Gennady P. ZhukovUSSRAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
1968Dr Eilene M. GallowayUnited StatesAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
1967no award  
1966Judge Manfred LachsPolandAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
1965Amb. Armando A. CoccaArgentinaAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
 Prof. Myres S. McDougalCanadaAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
1964Dr Yevgeny A. KorovinUSSRAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
 Prof. Cyril HorsfordUnited KingdomAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
1963Dr Eugene PepinFranceAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
 Dr Ernst FasanAustriaAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
1962Dr Alex MeyerGermanyAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
 Dr Antonio AmbrosiniItalyAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award
1961Dr John Cobb CooperUnited StatesAndrew G. Haley Gold Medal/Award