RESULTS: 32nd Annual Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court World Finals

The 32nd Annual Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court World Finals were held on Thursday, October 5 at the Supreme Court of the Republic of Azerbaijan in its capitol, Baku. 

Presiding were three justices on the International Court of Justice: Her Excellency Judge Xue, His Excellency Judge Brant and His Excellency Judge Tomka.

The students who pleaded the fictitious case of Argyliam v. Koligian, authored by George Kyriakopoulos, were winners of competitions among 73 teams across the regions of Africa, Europe, North America, Latin America, and Asia Pacific. 

Competing in the preliminary and semi-final rounds were the Latin American regional winner, the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México; the African regional winner, the University of Calabar, in Nigeria; the Asia-Pacific regional winner, China University of Political Science and Law; the European regional winner, the University of Cologne, Germany; and the North American regional winner, the USAF Air Command and Staff College, from the United States.

Pleading in the World Finals were Christina Schmitz and Verena Celina S. for the University of Cologne and Huang Rixin and Zhuo Linling for China University of Political Science. The judges declared China University of Political Science and Law as the winner and voted Christina Schmitz, of the University of Cologne, the Best Oralist. The Best Memorials award was presented to China University of Political Science and Law.

The memorials judges for the competition finals were Michael Dodge, Rebecca Connolly, Laura Garry, Zuzanna Kulinska - KępaChristopher J. NewmanJinyuan SuGuoyu WangDeepika JeyakodiAnnie Handmer (PhD) and Anne-Sophie MARTIN, Ph.D🪐💫. The judges of the preliminary round were Olavo Bittencourt NetoDr. Ulrike M. (Ulla) Bohlmann and Michelle L.D. Hanlon

The judges of the semi-final rounds were Henry HertzfeldFrans von der DunkDr. Ranjana Kaul, Guoyu Wang, Tanja Masson-Zwaan and George Kyriakopoulos.