The Board of Directors is elected by the General Assembly and is responsible for the efficient and effective management and supervision of the activities and affairs of the Institute in accordance with its Statutes and Bylaws. The Board meets twice per year and is composed of twenty-one members, five of whom serve as Officers (President, two Vice Presidents, Executive Secretary, and Treasurer).

Tasks and qualification criteria for the Board of Directors

The general task of all board members is to attend all meetings of the Board of Directors and General Assembly and to actively contribute to the realisation of the purposes and objectives of the Institute. The Board members maintain the highest ethical standards and act in the best interest of the Institute.

PresidentHighest-ranking Officer of the Institute, chair all conferences and meetings of the Institute and perform all duties pertaining to the office.

Vice-Presidents: Actively assist the President and carry out duties assigned by the General Assembly, the Board of Directors or the President.

Executive Secretary: Keep the minutes of meetings, give notice of meetings and generally perform all duties the office may require.

Treasurer: Custodian of all funds of the Institute, manage the Institute’s accounts and disburse funds upon submission of appropriate bills or statements.

Member of the Board: Individual Member or designated representative of an Institutional Member, significant experience in the juridical or social science aspects of space activities, committed to the Purposes and Objectives of the Institute.


Board members are elected for three-year terms and may be re-elected. Elections are run electronically and are managed by an Election Committee, appointed each year by the General Assembly.

Current IISL Officers

The IISL Officers during the current term are:

PositionTitle, NameNationalityTerm of Office
PresidentProf. Dr. Kai-Uwe SchroglGermany2022-2025
Vice PresidentProf. Dr. Lesley Jane SmithUK / Germany2023-2026
Vice Presidentvacant
Executive SecretaryProf. Dr. PJ BlountUnited States2023-2026
TreasurerMr. Dennis J. BurnettUnited States2023-2026
Current IISL Directors

The current IISL Directors are:

PositionNameNationalityTerm of Office
DirectorFrans von der DunkNetherlands2023-2026
DirectorMarco FerrazzaniItaly2021 - 2024
DirectorJoanne GabrynowiczUnited States2021 - 2024
DirectorMahulena HofmannCzech Republic / Germany2023-2026
DirectorRanjana KaulIndia2021 - 2024
DirectorPeter MartinezSouth Africa2022 - 2025
DirectorMartha Mejia-KaiserMexico / Germany2022 - 2025
DirectorScarlet O’DonnellGermany2022 - 2025
DirectorOlavo de Oliveira Bittencourt NetoBrazil2021 - 2024
DirectorMasahiko SatoJapan2021 - 2024
DirectorOlga Stelmakh-DrescherGermany / Ukraine2023-2026
DirectorJenni TapioFinland2021 - 2024
DirectorFabio TronchettiItaly2021 - 2024
DirectorHelen TungSingapore2022 - 2025
DirectorGuoyu WangChina2021 - 2024