IISL Awards nomination season opened

Each year, IISL recognizes eminent and extraordinary contributions and services to the field of space law, and for advancing the broader objectives of the Institute through prestigious IISL annual awards.

The annual awards are given under the following five categories:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Award of Appreciation
  • Certificate of Gratitude
  • IISL Space Law Award for Young Achievers

In particular, the last category of award entitled IISL Space Law Award for Young Achievers, introduced in 2019, aims at recognizing meritorious contributions / outstanding achievement relevant to the field of space law or distinctive service to the activities, events or goals of IISL by young individuals. The nominated individuals should be below 40 years of age as of 31 March 2024. More details on all categories of the awards can be accessed from the IISL web site <International Institute of Space Law | IISL >

The Institute calls for nominations in prescribed forms for the 2024 IISL Awards in the above categories, to be sent before the deadline of 29 February 2024.

Nominations must be submitted electronically to <awards@iisl.space>, by filling and e-mailing the prescribed form, and providing all the required information and documentation.

Nomination forms and eligibility criteria for each category, and the procedure for nominations, can be accessed on the IISL website under “awards and competitions” menu. The list of past awardees can also be found on the same page. As the scope of the IISL Awards is global and is not limited to IISL members, all members are urged to actively participate and nominate. 

IISL Awards Committee

Please see below for the Nomination form (docx) to be used for nominations for IISL Awards and Instructions on IISL Awards and Certificates (pdf).